Unconditional

by Joe Thomas

When I was a kid and an X-Games poser Dave Mirra was my favorite athlete. Today he passed away, by an apparently self-inflicted gunshot.

Often when someone takes their own life or tries to, it seems that the most sympathetic reaction is to encourage those who struggle with depression to seek help.

It seems to me though, that this asks the victim to take on another burden, another responsibility. And for those to whom life has given much, the fear of seeming ungrateful can drive a person away from finding help on their own.

Depression does not discriminate. It does not know race, or gender, or sense of humor. It doesn’t care how much money you have, or how many medals you won. All I know to do is to fill the lives of people for whom I care with all the love I can, and hope that helps.

