Blueberry Chess Pie Recipe

by Joe Thomas

I was really craving chess pie today, for some reason. Maybe it was because I was thinking about the amazing buttermilk pie that I had last year at The Yesterday Cafe in Greensboro, GA, but I didn’t have any buttermilk. (By the way, Greensboro is totally worth a visit. One of my favorite small Southern towns I’ve ever visited.) Whatever. Here’s what I made, it turned out great!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 c. sugar
1/4 c. butter
1/8 tsp. salt
3 eggs
2 tbsp. flour
2 tbsp. cornstarch
1 tbsp. vinegar
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen)
1 unbaked pie shell (if you make your own pie crust, totally use it. I cheated.)

Cream sugar, butter and salt in a mixer until fluffy.

Blend in eggs, one at a time.

Add flour, cornstarch, vinegar and vanilla. Beat until smooth.

Stir in blueberries.

Pour in pie shell, bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, then 300 degrees for 35-45 minutes until pie sets up in the middle.

