Joe Recommends: Vol. 3

by Joe Thomas

Tilt Elevate

It’s been a while since my last post, so I thought I’d ease back in with a shortened chapter of “Joe Recommends”. Hope everyone had a great Christmas, I certainly did.

Cognet Douk-Douk- I got this knife for Christmas, it’s a super simple pocketknife and I’m absolutely in love with it. It’s been made the same way for 83 years. You can find more info here and buy it here. If you’re in the market, check it out.

Winning Fantasy Football- In the words of Nuke LaLoosh, it’s like, better than losing.

Another Earth- Just watched this earlier today actually. A really fascinating mix of science fiction and drama, and outstanding acting by the leads. Here’s the trailer: 

Mount Moriah- My friends Sarah and Nick turned me on to this band. Nick works at Merge Records, who are releasing their next album in February, but I’ve been listening to and really enjoying their debut album from 2011. Give them a listen (and a look, too): 

ELEVATE by Tilt- French artist Tilt filmed his work on an American flag mural in downtown Atlanta, but to me it’s a beautiful portrait of the city as a whole. Also, anything with “A Change Is Gonna Come” in it is automatically awesome. Check it out: 

Ghirardelli Pumpkin Spice Chocolates- I’m not the worlds biggest chocolate fan, and I generally think the whole “It’s fall, let’s make everything pumpkin flavored” fad is overblown (especially pumpkin beer… seriously, that needs to stop). But these were in my stocking, and they were phenomenal. Well played, chocolatiers.

That’s all for now, I’ll get back into this soon!

