I’m a 20-something GUY and this is my life.

by Joe Thomas

So a friend of mine has been writing (quite well) over at her blog about all sorts of interesting things, and it’s inspired me to spend some time here after a nine month hiatus. One thing Beano has done at Love Ya, Bean It is feature a couple of our good friend’s stories of their lives in their mid-twenties. These are some cool folks, and their pieces led me to think about my life after high school and the (roundabout) journey I have taken to where I am now; a twenty-six year old college sophomore living out some goals and trying to reach the rest.

Since I’ve turned twenty-one, when I became a “twenty-something”, I’ve learned some things that I, at least at this point, think are true. These are they:

1) You learn some things about life really quickly when you’re not in school and you make minimum wage. Some of these things are funny, like how creamed corn and ramen noodle casserole tastes (spoiler alert: it’s awful), and some of these things are not, like how quickly your wages can get garnished when a landlord takes you to court. It sucks at the time, but it opens your eyes to both the things you prioritize and the struggles of people who don’t have family and friends who will give you a hand.

2) My parents are my best friends. I never had as bad a relationship with my folks as some of my friends did when I was younger, but I was very wrapped up in myself and ignored some important things, like family. What I have come to realize (especially since I moved back in with them last August) is that I have at least two people in my life who more than anything else want me to be happy and do well. Its a simple thing, but sometimes you need to be reminded of simple things.

3) Getting paid and spending all your money in bars in one weekend is super fun. What isn’t fun is walking to work for two weeks because you can’t put any gas in your car. If you plan on seeing the girl in the bar you’ve been buying drinks for again, you’re going to want to be able to fill up your tank.

4) School is important. When I left Berry College after one semester in 2004, I thought I would be fine. For a while I was, but it really took moving to Athens and working in the UGA parking deck to make me realize that the way I imagined my life would be in ten, twenty, fifty years wasn’t possible working there forever. Something I have struggled with is trying to skip from step one to step sixty four without the middle parts. Sometimes they seem stupid, but the process is important.

Writing this has been very cathartic. Self-examination is hard, and doing so when you’re in a time of transition like I am can be even harder. I  hope this sheds some light on how the twenty-something Y-chromosome-rs live.

 Image

